I\’m Too Sexy for My Master\’s Thesis


thesis outline

Posted in jewish legion,progress,thesis by Rae on 9 May 2006

This outline lays out my thesis topic. All titles are tentative, but accurately represent the subject matter.

The Finest Idea: Formation and Recruitment of the Jewish Legion in World War I

Introduction/Overview

1. Zionism (Jewish and non-Jewish) and its Proponents

Jabotinsky

Weizmann

Trumpeldor

Patterson

2. Zion Mule Corps

Palestine and Egypt

Gallipoli

3. Establishing the Jewish Legion

a. Political

Amery

Smuts

Opposition

Etc

b. Social

Steed/The Times

Scott/Manchester Guardian

Greenberg/London Jewish Chronicle

Opponents

4. Recruitment

Britain

Americas

Palestine

Conclusion

I'm still formulating my thesis question, but I know it will pertain to the recruitment efforts. So, most of the paper will be the background and build up to recruitment: Zionism, the Zion Mule Corps at Gallipoli, politics, and social issues. Then I'll cover the actual recruitment efforts in the various countries.

Tomorrow I'm meeting with the professor I mentioned last week. We'll discuss my thesis topic in general and the section on Zionism specifically. I'll need to revamp my Zionism bibliography today, plus gather together everything I've written on Zionism in the past.

I'm hoping to start yoga next week.

Leave a Reply

