I\’m Too Sexy for My Master\’s Thesis


super sexy wednesday 4

Posted in history,scholarship,tips by Rae on 31 May 2006

From Tomorrow's Professor Blog, "Are You a 21st Century Library-Ready Instructor?" looks at how to make campus libraries more attractive and useful to students and faculty.

*

"The Future of Free Information" (PDF) by Lawrence M. Sanger. (via Open Access News)

*

So sad: UK educators shun Israeli academics. I agree with Jim Davila's sentiments. When will they learn that these actions only put egg on their own faces and harm academic freedom?

*

Home Schoolers Learn A B C's of Keeping Fit:

Six years ago, when she became their teacher, Ms. Massey, 36, easily got up to speed in math and science, but the fundamentals of physical education left her stumped. "I didn't feel adequate enough to teach them myself," she said. Although her children, the oldest of whom are 8 and 11, played backyard soccer, she wanted them to understand that there was more to fitness than just kicking a ball. "P.E. is just as important as academics," she insisted. "I want my kids to understand how heart rate works and how you can get a good workout even if you can't go to the gym."

Do people think kids learn that in public or private schools? As someone who spent time in public, private, and home schools, my level of physical fitness and knowledge of the body and excercise didn't vary from one to the next. My firm belief is that lifestyle habits like good eating and exercise are learned at home, anyway.

*

There is a technique for researching in Russian libraries: How to Get Past Face Control at the Library. (via Rare Book News)

*

Inside Higher Ed has a smart article, titled "Stop Chasing High-Tech Cheaters."

Outside the classroom, cell phones, PDAs, PocketPCs, Internet access is everywhere because we need it and use it in our information driven lives. But inside the classroom, the very skills humans need to succeed are discouraged and viewed with alarm. So schools do not teach effective use of Google, of text-messaging, of instant-messaging. They don’t teach collaboration. They barely teach communication outside the stilted prose only academics use. No wonder students are prepared for nothing except more school.

I suppose everyone assumes kids know how to use all the popular technologies, but those students mostly (only?) use those tools in a social milieu. I agree with Ira Socol (the article's author). I also think that colleges need to make courses on how to network mandatory for all students. Every job and opportunity I've been offered since college has resulted from networking, but I only realized that in retrospect. If I had known that it really matters "who ya know" during my undergrad years, I'm convinced I could have made better use of my time then and after.

*

A new blog: Digging Digitally – Archaeology, data sharing, digitally enabled research & education.

Leave a Reply

